Observations

I was filling out some forms the other day, and I had to chuckle at the various boxes one has to check for different things.  Think about it, we are categorized in various boxes, dependant on different criteria.  What’s equally amusing to me is when you have to check the next level box.

There are boxes to check for all kinds of things. Mr., Mrs., MS.   Male, Female.  Those are easy and, of course, obvious.   I usually pause to answer when it comes to the race box.  Is that really necessary information to have?    Don’t get me wrong, I know these questions are asked for a reason, however, In a society where we claim to want understanding and inclusion of all people, this constant labeling and boxing people up sure seems to separate us more than include us.

Filling out a survey, one of the questions was regarding age.  Normally I don’t mind, except when you have to check the next box. You know 20-29 30-39 40-49. Always a reflective pause when you have to move up a box.  That 50-59 box was a tough one to check.

It usually doesn’t take long before certain mail starts to show up after  those boxes have been checked.  Most seems to be junk mail.  After checking that 50-59  age box, it was only a matter of time before my mailbox had some interesting offerings.  First came the AARP information.  I get it- I am old, and I suppose that confirmed it.  Really though, two days later I received a letter from a local funeral home. I went from old to dead in a blink of an eye- or rather, a check of a box!

Honestly, it doesn’t bother me too much; I know it’s really only a marketing issue.  I don’t feel old, and try to make the most of each day.   It would be nice, however, if they didn’t have to remind me.

One thought on “Observations

Leave a Reply

