Milestones

How do we define milestones in life? What makes one event more noteworthy than another?  I was recently looking on that famous greeting card website for an anniversary year designation, and noticed that there comes a time, after about 15 years, that the designation is rather ho hum.  As if those years don’t really deserve much mention.  Seriously- it said for year 23, the “theme” is air.  Air?  Am I to assume, then,  that I can put a lid on a mason jar and hand it over, for a gift of air?

I have been pondering this because today is my 24th anniversary.  A rather ho hum year according to that famous card company web site.  This years theme is stone.  I wonder, how did we go from a Diamond at year 10 to stone at year 24? Have these past 14 years not amounted to more than a rock?

Let me tell you – 24 years is nothing to sneeze at.  Marriage is so much more than the ceremony and reception.  It is all those small things, those ho hum days and events that never get the recognition they deserve.

The  day he clips a rose from the garden and puts it on the table because it’s pretty.

When she brings him Vernors because he’s been sick, and she knows it will make him feel better.

It’s laughing at your silly jokes, a hug just because, dancing in the kitchen to annoy the children.  Being able to disagree, but know, no matter what, you love them.  It’s laundry and shopping and cooking and cleaning.  Dealing with being sick, aging family and bills.

Marriage is hard, it’s fraught with pitfalls that devour many and  leave many more with bruises unseen.   It’s messy, and stressful and there are three sides to it-his, hers and the truth.

So when I look at that greeting card website that says year 24 is stone- and the big milestone of  year 25 is silver, I can’t help but shake my head and disagree.  Each of these 24 years has been a milestone to celebrate, to shout to all that those ho hum events and days have had as much meaning as that year 25.

So today, on this day of stone for my husband I , I want to publicly shout out to all, that we have persevered through all those ho hum moments.  We have fought and made up, laughed and cried, supported and cheered, and most of all loved each other as we promised we would.  You see, we made a choice, those many years ago, and though it’s been hard at times, I can’t imagine another I would have loved the way I love him.

Happy 24th anniversary my dear love.

One thought on “Milestones

  1. She is My Wife. An outstanding lady that is in the middle of Nine, some times a hard place to be. A true California blonde that sometimes makes no sence and the turns around and is the best at giving directions with out making you feeling like a man. She needs no make-up. just goes to bed looking perfect and wakes up the same way. She shops at Home Depot and looks great with her sexy nighties from Adams and Eves Loose something? She finds it. If its broken, She can fix it and always does. Want advice, she listens. Sometimes calls herself the BEST and almost of the times she is.

    It seems like that we always have had a plan, but we aren’t really positive about what it was, yet it worked out really great and we still have to work on it. Its only been 24 years of Marriage and 35 years of friendship and we still have a long way to go. Its been a great journey and the miles and smiles will keep going on!

    Any man should be so lucky to just have my Wife even for a day. Its been a great journey and the miles and smiles will grow stronger.

    I Love you Mern: and by the way; Thanks for being my Wife

    Me

Leave a Reply

